top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrandon Chitwood

F!N Joins Legendary Ranks Of Icon Collective Roster & Announces Move To Los Angeles!



After publicly revealing music for a little over four years from his eclectic Winds of Change EP and his recently unveiled collaborative single 'Impact' alongside TVCCI to a myriad of other self-released records, F!N has now been announced as one of the latest artists to join the legendary ranks of Icon Collective roster. Preparing to move to California, he readies up for the greatest adventure in his journey as an artist yet!



F!N is a DJ and producer originally based out of Charlotte, North Carolina who has been surrounded by music much of his life. As early as his middle school years, he saw himself immersed in the EDM soundscapes, learning to use turntables and create music with a guitar. Over the years, he would add songwriting and audio production in his repertoire, letting the sounds of grunge, post-rock, rap and hip-hop influence his early sound.


Beginning to offer his productions on SoundCloud in 2016, F!N released five tracks that drew from the energies of the heavier spectrum of bass music with genres like riddim, dubstep, trap, electro house and bass house. After a couple years, he started diving into deeper waters with riddim inspired dubstep track 'Shark Week' and later decided to take some time away to focus on family and really begin honing his skills in the studio.



Jump years ahead into 2020, F!N decided it was finally time to resurface and unveil to fans and new listeners alike his Winds of Change EP. Spanning five tracks in total, the release featured some of the heaviest sounds he had concocted yet, from wobbly dubstep, edgy riddim and pulsating club vibes to trap and much appreciated elements of ambience. Since then, he has hosted multiple essentials inspired mix livestreams on Twitch as "The Deep End" and offered heavy hitter 'Impact' with TVCCI.



When first releasing your extended play, you mentioned feeling like you put your heart and soul into the release. How do you think your sound has evolved after releasing the EP?


My sound continues to evolve with every project, but lately I find myself experimenting with a lot of aggressive, yet futuristic sound design. I think this comes from the influence of all the future riddim I've been listening to and the recent release of "Vital," which I've been using quite a bit for my sound design.



As we readers have seen and fans of your music can attest, you've been in the scene for a while now. Despite the leaps your audio producing has made in the last four years alone, what do you think your sound may be like in the next couple years?


Very difficult to say what my sound will be like a couple years from now, but what I will say is that the sky's the limit. My honest hope is to continue improving the quality of my content and keep engaging in the things that inspire me. I believe if I continue to do those things, my creativity will guide the ship right to where it needs to be. Who knows, maybe 12 months from now I find myself pursuing a new moniker or project that's pushing a completely different sound!



Since revealing his latest dubstep heavy hitter 'Impact' in October, F!N had been taking time to design and curate a multitude of unreleased content. Now, after weeks of hard work, he has been accepted into the Winter 2021 Evening session of the Icon Los Angeles Music Production Program or otherwise known as the first semester of his journey with Icon Collective! To ready up, he prepares to move out to California with his family this coming January.



How are you mentally preparing for switching life in Los Angeles?


Although I've done some traveling, I've lived in the south my entire life, so the prospect of new experiences and a shift in my way of life is VERY exciting. The move itself will be a challenge, but I keep reminding myself that passion is hard to find; so when you find it, pursue it!



What are you excited about the most for joining Icon Collective? What are you looking forward to the most?


I'm most excited about taking my production to the next level, getting an opportunity to hone in and further polish my craft while seeking guidance and getting advice from some of the best to ever do it. I'm looking forward to fully immersing myself in the world of production in an academic environment. This pursuit will allow me to surround myself with like minded individuals whose passion is the same as mine.



As we draw closer to 2021, this couldn't be a more exciting time for DJ and producer F!N amidst the announcement that he'll be moving to California in January, getting accepted into one of the most prestige colleges in country for electronic dance music and teasing that he also has unreleased music ready to go one of these days. Get hyped for this artist, as this is well deserved and it also means fans will surely get some powerful, new music in the coming months!


Follow F!N Via:


 

I want to give a big shout out to Able Grey, Aaron Richards and Tyler Eads for becoming my newest Patron's on my Patreon! Our collaborative journey is just beginning!


146 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page